Can’t find the words

After spending the last 10 days learning about libraries, information and society I feel like I have received a good crash course in the way the profession of library and information science works. I’m not really sure how to evaluate the profession as a whole. I think I am more excited about the possibilities its presents me to have a very important role in the future. 

There seems to be a shortage of people actually willing to manage problems, but a rush of people who have quick solutions or traditionalists who can’t see anything worth changing. There is always common ground and that is our understanding. Each perspective of the problem and solution contains value and needs to be allowed a voice. I would have to say my professor Leigh Estabrook was the perfect instructor for the course. The way she laid out the problem gave me a clear understanding of what I want to do. 

It is increasingly difficult, and at times to my pleasure, how to consider our civilization. We are changing, becoming more dynamic and creative every moment. Yet we are sometimes still ruled by our apprehension to trust our power. There needs to be and over-arching respect for the human spirit, and contempt against any idea of our place in the universe as being undeserved or worthless. We are just as important as everything else. We cannot separate ourselves from Nature, but Nature doesn’t rule us either. We are part of the world as it is and must respect it as I hope we will eventually respect ourselves.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

